goto homepage (ecotopia dance productions: biographies Balé Da Cidade De São Paulo)
ecotopia dance productions: biographies Balé Da Cidade De São Paulo
BIOGRAPHIES
REPERTOIRE
PRESS CLIPPINGS
PRESS PHOTOS
VIDEO
CALENDAR

BALé DA CIDADE DE SãO PAULO

BIOGRAPHIES

When the dance company was founded in 1968, the most important point was at first to do justice to the neccessities of a theater in Latin America's biggest metropolis. In 1974, Antonio Carlos Cardoso then pushed a new development while searching dancers, who were able to realize his modern and innovative ideas. Both the name of the group, Balé da Cidade de São Paulo, and the exceptional status come from that time until today, the Balé da Cidade is an independent company inside the official structure of the theater.

In the 80s, many choreographers, directors, sceneographers, painters and musicians formed the company's style and constantly developed an own language and own aesthetics on the basis of modern dance techniques. The Brasilian self-image gave the dancers within the universal language as well technical as interpretatory variety, which had the consequences, that every direction of style flowed into the repertoire, from neo-classicism to dance theater.

The work which has developed this way, met a lively echo with audience and press and was awarded with prizes in all conceivable categories. In addition to various chreographies, technical perfection and artistic expression were especially praised.

Ismael Ivo
Born in: São Paulo, Brazil;

“Ismael Ivo studied drama and dance in Brazil and performed there as a solo dancer, before being invited to New York by Ailey in 1983. Here he continued creating and performing solo works [...], in which the charismatic intensity and sculptural power of this style brought him an international reputation. [...]”
(Oxford Dictionary of Dance, Oxford University Press)

Important impulse for the development of his distinctive style was the close collaboration with Márcia Haydée, Japanese Butoh dancer Ushio Amagatsu, leader of Sankai Juku Company, and with Johan Kresnik, the pioneer of German Dance Theatre.

Worldwide premieres and tours with his over 50 feature-length choreographies by now made Ismael Ivo a protagonist of contemporary dance in Europe. His oeuvre comprises solos and big company works, contemporary pieces, dance theatre, choreographic theatre and contemporary classic dance performances. His artistic interest in the research of a concept of the Performative Body resulted in joined projects with artists like Heiner Mueller, George Tabori and Marina Abramovic. His work with Yoshi Oida was awarded “Outstanding Performance of the Year” in London.

Besides substantial work as choreographer and dancer, his actives as director of festivals and cultural institutions are further creative focal points. In 1984 Ismael Ivo founded ImPulsTanz – Vienna International Dance Festival together with Karl Regensburger, in the meantime Europe´s largest dance festival, which he is still leading as representative and artistic director. The German National Theatre in Weimar appointed Ismael Ivo as chief-choreographer and director of dance company from 1997 to 2000. At Max-Reinhardt-Seminar, University for Music and Performing Arts Vienna, he had the position of visiting professor.

In the years 2005 to 2012 Ismael Ivo was director of the International Festival of Contemporary Dance and the Dance Department of La Biennale di Venezia in Venice. His innovative festival programme and activities here were multiple-awarded in Italy.

With the task to upgrade professional formation in dance he founded the project Biblioteca do Corpo® in 2009 in Venice. From 2013 on this project is continued in collaboration of ImPulsTanz Vienna, SESC São Paulo and Secretaria de Estado da Cultura São Paulo. Since 2015 he is leading the government program of support of dance in the state of São Paulo.

Since 2017 Ismael Ivo is the artistic director of Balé da Cidade, the dance company of the Theatro Municipal, São Paulo.

Ismael Ivo´s cultural achievement was acknowledged by the presentation of The Order of Cultural Merit of the Federative Republic of Brazil in 2010 by his Excellence Mr. President of the Republic Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva.

to the top

zur Startseite (ecotopia dance productions: Biographien Balé Da Cidade De São Paulo)
ecotopia dance productions: Biographien Balé Da Cidade De São Paulo
BIOGRAPHIEN
REPERTOIRE
PRESSESTIMMEN
PRESSEBILDER
VIDEO
KALENDER

BALé DA CIDADE DE SãO PAULO

BIOGRAPHIEN

Als die Tanzkompanie 1968 gegründet wurde, ging es in erster Linie darum, den Notwendigkeiten eines Schauspielhauses der größten Metropole Lateinamerikas gerecht zu werden. 1974 trieb Antonio Carlos Cardoso dann eine neue Entwicklung voran, auf der Suche nach Tänzern, die seine modernen und innovativen Ideen umsetzen konnten. Aus dieser Zeit stammt sowohl der Name der Gruppe, Balé da Cidade de São Paulo, als auch der außergewöhnliche Status. Bis heute ist das Balé da Cidade eine unabhängige Kompanie innerhalb der offiziellen Struktur des Theaters.

In den 80er Jahren prägten zahlreiche Choreographen, Regisseure, Bühnenbildner, Maler und Musiker den Stil der Kompanie und immer mehr entwickelte sich eine eigene Sprache und eine eigene Ästhetik auf der Basis von modernen Tanztechniken. Das brasilianische Selbstver-ständnis bescherte den Tänzern innerhalb der universellen Sprache des zeitgenössischen Tanzes sowohl technische als auch interpretatorische Vielfalt, was zur Folge hatte, dass sämtliche Stilrichtungen in das Repertoire einflossen, vom Neoklassischen bis hin zum Tanztheater. Die Arbeit, die sich auf diese Art und Weise entwickelt hat, traf auf regen Widerhall bei Publikum und Kritik und wurde mit Preisen in allen denkbaren Kategorien ausgezeichnet. Neben diversen Choreographien wurden technische Perfektion und künstlerischer Ausdruck der Tänzer besonders gelobt.

ISMAEL IVO
Geboren in Sao Paulo, Brasilien;

“Ismael Ivo studierte Schauspiel und Tanz in Brasilien und trat dort als Solotänzer auf, bis er 1983 von Alvin Ailey nach New York eingeladen wurde. Dort setzte er seine Arbeit als Choreograph und Tänzer mit solistischen Stücken fort [...] , in denen die charismatische Intensität und skulpturale Kraft seines Stiles ihm bald internationales Ansehen einbrachten. [...]“
(Oxfort Dictionary of Dance, Oxford University Press)

Wesentliche Anstöße für die Entwicklung seines unverwechselbaren Stils bekam Ismael Ivo durch die enge Zusammenarbeit mit dem japanischen Butoh-Tänzer Ushio Amagatsu, Leiter der Company „Sankai Juku“, und mit Johann Kresnik, dem Pionier des deutschen Tanztheaters.

Weltweite Premieren und Tourneen mit seinen mittlerweile über 50 abendfüllenden Choreographien haben Ismael Ivo zu einem Protagonisten des zeitgenössischen Tanzes in Europa werden lassen. Sein Schaffen umfasst Solo Performances und Stücke für große Ensemble, zeitgenössische Choreographien, Tanztheater, Choreographisches Theater und zeitgenössisches klassisches Ballett. Sein künstlerisches Interesse an der Erforschung eines Konzepts des Performativen Körpers führte zu zahlreichen gemeinsamen Projekten mit Künstlern wie Heiner Müller, George Tabori, Márcia Haydée und Marina Abramovic. Seine Arbeit „Die Zofen“ mit Yoshi Oida wurde in London als „Outstanding Performance of the Year“ prämiert.

Neben seiner umfangreichen Arbeit als Choreograph und Tänzer bilden seine Tätigkeiten als Direktor von Festivals und Kultureinrichtungen einen weiteren Schaffensschwerpunkt. Das 1984 von Ismael Ivo zusammen mit Karl Regensburger gegründete ImPulsTanz - Vienna International Dance Festival hat sich über die Jahre zum größten Tanzfestival Europas entwickelt. Er steht dem Festival als Repräsentant und künstlerischer Berater vor und wurde für seine Leistungen in Wien mit dem Goldenen Verdienstkreuz ausgezeichnet. Am Deutschen Nationaltheater Weimar war Ismael Ivo von 1997 - 2000 als Tanzchefchoreograph beschäftigt.

In den Jahren 2005 bis 2012 leitete er in Venedig das International Festival of Contemporary Dance und die Sparte Tanz der Biennale di Venezia. Sein innovatives Festival Programm wurde in Italien mehrfach ausgezeichnet. Am Max-Reinhardt-Seminar, Universität für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Wien, war er als Gastprofessor tätig.

Mit dem Ziel die professionelle Ausbildung von Tänzern zu fördern, gründete Ismael Ivo 2009 in Venedig das Project Biblioteca do Corpo®. Seit 2013 wird das Projekt in Kollaboration von ImPulsTanz Wien, Tanzwerk101 Zürich, The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts, SESC São Paulo und Secretaria de Estado da Cultura São Paulo fortgeführt. Seit 2015 leitet er das staatliche Programm zu Förderung des Tanzes im Bundesstaat São Paulo.

Seit 2017 ist Ismael Ivo der künstlerische Leiter des Balé da Cidade, der Tanzkompanie des Theatro Municipal, São Paulo.

Für seine herausragenden Leistungen im Bereich von Kultur und Kunst wurde Ismael Ivo mit dem Bundesverdienstkreuz Brasiliens ausgezeichnet, das ihm 2010 von Präsident Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva überreicht wurde.

nach oben