goto homepage (ecotopia dance productions: repertoire Gauthier Dance - Grandes Dames)
ecotopia dance productions: repertoire Gauthier Dance - Grandes Dames
BIOGRAPHIES
REPERTOIRE
PRESS CLIPPINGS
PRESS PHOTOS
VIDEO
CALENDAR

GAUTHIER DANCE

GRANDES DAMES

WITH WORLD PREMIERES BYVIRGINIE BRUNELLE, ERIC GAUTHIER, MARCO GOECKE, HELENA WALDMANN
WORLD PREMIEREJULY 12, 2018 THEATERHAUS STUTTGART

A production of Theaterhaus Stuttgart
Virginie Brunelle, Beating is a production of Danse Danse funded through the Canada Council for the Arts’ New Chapter initiative

To paraphrase Jane Austen: It is still a truth universally acknowledged that women choreographers need to be at least twice as good and struggle twice as hard if they want to get to the top in the world of dance. It is thus high time for a programme that pays tribute to the „women of Dance“. And that's exactly what the four world premieres closing the season 2017/18 are set to achieve in different ways – with two pieces created by women choreographers and two pieces dedicated to two female dance icons. Because it is not only the grande dame from Wuppertal and Louise Lecavalier who should be seen as „grandes dames“. The acclaimed German dance director Helena Waldmann and Quebec-born Virginie Brunelle, choreographer and Artistic Director of her own Compagnie Virginie Brunelle, are every bit as important as they shape and change the world of dance with each of their works, continually and irrevocably...

BEATING
Home advantage: Virginie Brunelle is from Quebec, the French speaking part of Canada that has traditionally produced a significant number of top women choreographers, most notably Marie Chouinard and Louise Lecavalier. The dance-friendly environment seems to have encouraged Virginie Brunelle to stand on her own two feet early on. In 2009, at just 26, she founded her own company and has been one of the key players of the young Canadian dance ever since. Her distinctive style is marked by three elements: the well-nigh acrobatic skills of her dancers, her strong, cinematic aesthetics as well as the innovative way she blends classical with contemporary movement vocabulary. Virginie Brunelle was delighted to be invited by her compatriot Eric Gauthier. For although Compagnie Virginie Brunelle frequently toured Europe, the assignment will now allow her to work with a European company for the first time. With her new piece Beating (working title), Brunelle goes on a poetic quest for authentic emotions, putting her protagonists to a fundamental test. Four male and four female dancers go through love and suffering, attraction and conflicts. For it is only by leaving behind the banality of everyday life, that you can listen to your own heart.

WE LOVE HORSES
Through the cooperation with Helena Waldmann, Gauthier Dance will once again enter new ground as the Berlin-based dance director always connects movement with current sociopolitical issues. Disciplining and submission are recurrent themes of her work and are also dealt with in both her acclaimed last pieces. Made in Bangladesh centred on exploitation in the garment industry – and in the supposedly free world of dance. In Good Passports Bad Passports, a coproduction with the COLOURS festival 2017, she reinterpreted the wealth represented by a country into a tale of two ensembles: a contemporary dance company and a group of nouveau cirque acrobats. The two communities have different values and are separated by a human wall. Now Waldmann takes the next logical step forward: We Love Horses is about dressage. The domestication of horses and of people have more in common than is generally thought – and lead Helena Waldmann to the question: Does dancing mean liberation or does it finally confirm the disciplining of the self? If ballet is about mastering the body and re-casting natural into artificial movements – how does it differ from what we do? We keep ourselves in check, we rein ourselves in, and chomp at the bit. In short: We love horses.


ELECTRIC LIFE
The Grandes Dames quartet will be complete with a world premiere by Artistic Director Eric Gauthier. Heroine – Heldin pays tribute to a dancer and choreographer whom he already admired while he was still a student at the National Ballet School Toronto: Louise Lecavalier. The famous front woman of La La La Human Steps and head of her own company Fou glorieux appeared at the second COLOURS festival in summer 2017 with her choreography Battleground – an obsessive, shattering tour de force that left the audience exhausted by just watching it. For Gauthier, Louise Lecavalier embodies the pure energy of dance. An energy he put into words that will be recited in numerous languages: „Je suis la danse“ – „I am dance.“ But Heroine – Heldin is also a musical and biographical trip to the eighties. In addition to original music by Gauthier's „regular“ composer Stephan M. Boehme, one song will play a special role: the German version of David Bowie's Heroes – Helden. For the chorus describes what dance does to all those who have devoted themselves to this ephemeral, merciless genre: „We can be heroes, just for one day.“

to the top

zur Startseite (ecotopia dance productions: Repertoire Gauthier Dance - Grandes Dames)
ecotopia dance productions: Repertoire Gauthier Dance - Grandes Dames
BIOGRAPHIEN
REPERTOIRE
PRESSESTIMMEN
PRESSEBILDER
VIDEO
KALENDER

GAUTHIER DANCE

GRANDES DAMES

MIT URAUFFüHRUNGEN VON VIRGINIE BRUNELLE, ERIC GAUTHIER, MARCO GOECKE, HELENA WALDMANN
PREMIERE12.7.2018 THEATERHAUS STUTTGART

Eine Produktion von Theaterhaus Stuttgart
Virginie Brunelle, Beating ist eine Produktion von Danse Danse. Gefördert von der Initiative New Chapter des Canada Council for the Arts


Nach wie vor gilt: Wer als Choreographin in der Welt des Tanzes ganz nach oben kommen will, muss doppelt so gut sein und doppelt so leidensfähig wie die männlichen Kollegen. Mindestens. Höchste Zeit also für ein Programm, das die „Women of Dance“ würdigt. Die vier Uraufführungen der Abschlusspremiere der Spielzeit 2017/18 tun dies auf ganz unterschiedliche Art. Zwei Stücke stammen von Choreographinnen, zwei Stücke erweisen zwei weiblichen Ikonen des Tanzes ihre Reverenz. „Grandes Dames“ sind folgerichtig nicht nur die großen Vorbilder aus Wuppertal und Louise Lecavalier. Eine „Grande Dame“ ist die profilierte deutsche Tanzregisseurin Helena Waldmann ebenso wie die Frankokanadierin Virginie Brunelle, Choreographin und Leiterin ihrer eigenen Compagnie Virginie Brunelle. Denn mit jedem ihrer Stücke gestalten und verändern sie die Tanzwelt von heute, fortlaufend und unwiderruflich...


BEATING
Heimvorteil: Virginie Brunelle stammt aus Québec, dem französischsprachigen Teil Kanadas, der so erfolgreiche Choreographinnen wie Marie Chouinard und Louise Lecavalier hervorgebracht hat. Das tanzaffine Umfeld hat Virginie Brunelle offensichtlich bestärkt, früh auf eigenen Beinen zu stehen. Mit nur 26 Jahren gründete sie 2009 ihre eigene Company und zählt seither zu den Hoffnungsträgerinnen des kanadischen Tanzes. Unverwechselbar machen ihren Stil vor allem drei Elemente: die geradezu akrobatische Körperbeherrschung ihrer Tänzerinnen und Tänzer, die starke, ans Kino erinnernde Ästhetik und die innovative Verschmelzung von klassischem und zeitgenössischem Bewegungsvokabular. Virginie Brunelle freut sich sehr über die Einladung ihres Landsmanns Eric Gauthier. Denn obwohl die Compagnie Virginie Brunelle schon häufig in Europa tourte, kann die Choreographin nun zum ersten Mal für ein europäisches Ensemble kreieren. Mit ihrem poetischen neuen Stück Beating (Arbeitstitel) begibt sie sich auf die Suche nach der Wahrheit der Gefühle und stellt ihre Protagonisten auf eine essentielle Probe. Vier Tänzerinnen und vier Tänzer durchleben Liebe und Leid, Anziehung und Konflikte. Denn nur, wer die Banalitäten des Alltags hinter sich lässt, kann endlich auf sein eigenes Herz hören.

WE LOVE HORSES
Die Kooperation mit Helena Waldmann führt Gauthier Dance auf bislang unbekanntes Terrain. Denn der Tanz-Regisseurin geht es nicht nur um das Tanzen. Sie bringt Bewegung immer in Zusammenhang mit aktuellen gesellschaftspolitischen Themen. Die Beschäftigung mit Disziplinierung und Unterwerfung zieht sich dabei wie ein roter Faden durch ihre Arbeit, auch in ihren beiden viel beachteten letzten Stücken. Made in Bangladesh handelte von der Ausbeutung in der Textilindustrie – und in der vermeintlich so freien Welt des Tanzes. In Gute Pässe Schlechte Pässe, koproduziert von COLOURS 2017, übersetzt sie den Reichtum, den ein Land repräsentiert, auf zwei Ensembles: eine zeitgenössische Tanzkompanie und eine Artistengruppe des Nouveau Cirque. Die beiden Wertegemeinschaften trennt eine menschliche Mauer. Nun geht Waldmann den nächsten logischen Schritt: We Love Horses handelt von der Dressur. Die Domestizierung von Pferden und die Domestizierung des Menschen verbindet dabei mehr, als man gemeinhin denkt – und führt Helena Waldmann zu der Frage: Ist Tanzen eine Frage der Befreiung oder die endgültige Bestätigung dieser (Selbst-)Disziplinierung? Denn nicht nur das Ballett setzt auf die Beherrschung des Körpers und die Umformung der natürlichen in die artifizielle Bewegung. Schließlich zügeln wir uns auch ständig selbst, nehmen uns an die Kandare, und kommen in die Hufe. Kurzum: Wir lieben Pferde.

INFANT SPIRIT

ELECTRIC LIFE
Heroine – Heldin heißt die vierte Arbeit für das Grandes Dames-Quartett. Company-Chef Eric Gauthier widmet sie einer Tänzerin und Choreographin, die er schon bewunderte, als er noch in Toronto auf die Ballettschule ging: Louise Lecavalier. Die langjährige „Frontfrau“ von La La La Human Steps und Chefin ihrer eigenen Kompanie Fou glorieux war im Sommer 2017 beim zweiten COLOURS-Festival mit und in ihrem Stück Battleground zu erleben – eine Performance von einer derartigen Power und Besessenheit, dass der reine Anblick die Zuschauer völlig erschöpft entließ. Für Gauthier verkörpert Louise Lecavalier die pure Energie des Tanzens. Und so steht als Motto über seinem Stück das in zahllosen Sprachen wiederholte „Je suis la danse“ – „Ich bin der Tanz“. Musikalisch und biographisch führt Heroine – Heldin in die Ära 80-er Jahre. Neben Originalmusik von Gauthiers „Hauskomponisten“ Stephan M. Boehme gibt es einen Song, der eine besondere Rolle für Gauthiers Stück spielt: David Bowies Heroes, das auch in einer deutschen Version existiert – Helden. Der Refrain drückt aus, was der Tanz mit all denen macht, die sich dieser so flüchtigen, so unerbittlichen Kunstform verschrieben haben: „Dann sind wir Helden. Nur diesen Tag.“

nach oben