zur Startseite

goto homepage (ecotopia dance productions: biographies FARN. collective)

FARN. COLLECTIVE

BIOGRAPHIES

The FARN. collective, founded in 2016, consists of Sandra Hüller, Tom Schneider, Tobias Staab, Michael Graessner, Sandro Tajouri and Moritz Bossmann.

Theater is understood here as a collective practice of thinking and acting. Within the collective, there are no fixed structures or hierarchies, no pre-existing forms or aesthetics, no certainties and truths that one could or wanted to rely on. If, as Anna Tsing says, "precariousness is the basic condition of our time "3 , then we want to draw strength from this indeterminacy and uncertainty to create new alliances that enable a new way of thinking from what we have in common.
From our perspective, this way of working is not only a possible technique or strategy of theater making. Rather, it is a way of being together, a lived practice of community, which is connected in content and structure with the discourses and questions that are negotiated in the context of our work.

Her first work was "Bilder Deiner Grosse Liebe" based on the text by Wolfgang Herrndorf as a co-production with the Theater Neumarkt Zurich, supported by the Landesverband Freier Theater Baden-Württemberg e.V. (Premiere on 28.04.2016). Since then, the production has been successfully on tour with guest performances at Staatstheater Hannover, Volksbühne Berlin, Schauspiel Leipzig, Kunstfest Weimar at Nationaltheater Weimar and the Theater Festival in Prague, among others. Since 2018 the production has also been shown in the repertoire of the Schauspielhaus Bochum. The audiobook version of "Bilder Deiner Große Liebe" was awarded as audiobook of the year of the HR2 Best List in 2019.
Her second production "The Hydra" based on texts by Heiner Müller followed in autumn 2019 at the Schauspielhaus Bochum. In 2020 the production was invited to the Berliner Festspiele's supporting program, which unfortunately had to be cancelled due to the Corona regulations.

ecotopia dance productions: biographies FARN. collective Sandra Hüller studied acting at the "Ernst Busch" Academy of Dramatic Arts in Berlin. Engagements followed at the Theaterhaus Jena, Theater Basel, Staatsschauspiel Hannover, Theater Freiburg, Volksbühne Berlin, Münchner Kammerspiele and the Ruhrtriennale. She achieved international success with her first leading role in Hans-Christian Schmid's film "Requiem", for which she was awarded the Silver Bear, German and Bavarian Film Awards in 2006. In 2010, 2013, 2019 and 2020 she was voted Actress of the Year by THEATER HEUTE. In 2020 she also receives the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany for her social commitment. In Maren Ade's film "Toni Erdmann" Sandra Hüller inspired both audiences and critics and was awarded the Bavarian, with the German and with the European Film Awards as well as numerous national and international prizes for her performance. She has worked with directors Johan Simons, Barbara Frey, René Pollesch, Schorsch Kamerum, Stephan Kimmig and Tom Schneider for many years.


Tom Schneider is director and musician. Until 2000 he worked as a musician in various formations and as an assistant for the free theater group "Theater Affekt" in Berlin. From 2000 to 2004 he worked as assistant director and acting musician at the Theater Basel. Since 2004 he has been working as a director himself, among others at the Theater Basel, the Theater Heidelberg, the Musik-Akademie Basel, the Theater Freiburg, the Münchner Kammerspiele, the Theater Neumarkt Zurich and the Schauspielhaus Bo- chum. From 2005 to 2007 he taught scenic design and figure dramaturgy at the Music Academy Basel / Schola Cantorum Basiliensis as part of the opera studio "Front Stage". From 2007 to 2012 he worked as director and musician in the artistic direction of PVC (Laboratory for Contemporary Dance) at the Theater Freiburg. In 2012 he founded the independent theater/dance group "off deluxe" in Freiburg, which received the Stuttgart Theater Prize for special artistic achievement with its first work (twilight/echo). Since 2016 he is artistic director and managing director of the FARN. collective. He is bassist in the band "A Boy Named River" and lives in Freiburg im Breisgau.


Michael Graessner studied stage and costume design with Achim Freyer at the Berlin University of the Arts. Since the 90s he has been working as a stage and costume designer for theater and opera productions.
He often tries to mediate between the genres of theater, film and performance and let them merge. His work has led him to collaborations with the Goethe Institute, the Akademie Der Künste Berlin, the Architecture Biennale Venice, theaters, schools and many artists from music, film, photography and poetry. Currently, works by him can be seen at the Deutsches Theater Berlin and the Schauspielhaus Bochum, among others. Since 2016 he has been working continuously with the theater group FARN. collective, a collective around Sandra Hüller and Tom Schneider. Michael Graessner lives in Berlin with the author Lisa Danulat and has two children.


Sandro Tajouri is an actor, musician and composer. He completed his acting studies at the University of the Arts in Bern from 2000 to 2004. From 2004 to 2008 he was a permanent ensemble member at the Theater Basel and from 2009 to 2015 at the Schauspiel Hannover. The production "Dido & Aeneas" by Sebastian Nübling with him and Sandra Hüller in the leading roles was invited to the Berlin Theatertreffen in 2007. In 2008 he played "Next Level Parsival" (director: S.Nübling) at the Ruhrtriennale Zeche Zollverein Essen. The production "Über Jungs" (director: Mina Salehpour) at the Grips Theater was awarded the Faust Prize in 2014. He is a drummer in the band "The Dead Brothers". In the current season he is an actor and musician in „Bilder Deiner Grossen Liebe“ and „Die Hydra“ (direction: Tom Schneider) at Theater Bochum. He is a member of FARN. collective.


Moritz Bossmann is free-lanced musician and composer. He plays the guitar and composes for his bands „Käptn Peng und die Tentakel von Delphi“, the Noise Rock Band „Vögel die Erde essen“ and „Puzzles“. He also writes film and theater music, e.g. for the feature film "AlkiAlki" by Axel Ranisch and Heiner Müller ́s "Der Auftrag" in the production of Tom Kühnel and Jürgen Kuttner at the Staatsschauspiel Hannover. Together with his band colleagues he runs the label Kreismusik, on which all of his albums are released. He studied jazz guitar in Weimar and Istanbul. Moritz Bossmann lives as a freelance musician in Berlin.


Tobias Staab, born 1981 in Stuttgart, works as a freelance dramaturg, director and curator for music and media art. He has worked as a dramaturg at the Münchner Kammerspiele, the Ruhrtriennale and the Schauspielhaus Bochum. In addition, Tobias Staab curated large parts of the Ruhrtriennale's installation and music program between 2015 and 2017. In 2016 he founded together with the US choreographer Richard Siegal the dance company Ballet of Difference, which established itself from an internationally touring company to a permanent company in the city of Cologne. As a freelance curator he also launched various programs and festivals in the fields of music as well as performative and installative arts: with Ritournelle he established a festival for advanced electronic pop music at the Munich Kammerspiele in 2012, which in the following years also took place at the Schauspielhaus Bochum and as part of the Ruhrtriennale. At the interface of experimental electronic music, media art and dance the festival Noise Signal Silence was established, founded and curated by Tobias Staab, which took place in Munich and Cologne in 2017 and 2018. As part of the Bauhaus 100 Festival at the Academy of Arts in Berlin, he curated an interdisciplinary program in 2019 under the title Hyper.Culture, which formulated a concept for a future queer and intercultural Bauhaus of the 21st century. In 2019 Tobias Staab founded the DIVE Festival for Immersive Arts in Bochum, where he also designed large parts of the program. Since 2018 he has been curating and directing the new media art center Oval Office in Bochum, where he exhibits internationally renowned artists such as Matthew Barney, Tianzhuo Chen, Kurt Hentschläger, Ulf Langheinrich, Ivana Franke, Lizzy Fitch & Ryan Trecartin and Terry Riley. In 2018 Tobias Staab wrote and directed the music theater project O Augenblick as a homage to the theater. In 2020 he developed and staged the evening After Work - A Requiem for the Working Man, which explores the relationship between work and identity at the interface of dance, acting and the visual arts.

to the top

zur Startseite

zur Startseite (ecotopia dance productions: Biographien FARN. collective)

FARN. COLLECTIVE

BIOGRAPHIEN

Das 2016 gegründete FARN. collective besteht aus Sandra Hüller, Tom Schneider, Tobias Staab, Michael Graessner, Sandro Tajouri und Moritz Bossmann.

Theater wird hier als kollektive Praxis des Denkens und Handelns begriffen. Innerhalb des Kollektivs gibt es keine festgelegten Strukturen oder Hierarchien, keine präexistierenden Formen oder Ästhetiken, keine Sicherheiten und Wahrheiten, auf die man sich verlassen könnte oder wollte. Wenn, wie Anna Tsing sagt, „Prekarität die Grundbedingung unserer Zeit ist“, dann wollen wir aus dieser Unbestimmtheit und Unsicherheit heraus Kraft schöpfen, um neue Allianzen zu schaffen, die aus dem Gemeinsamen heraus ein neues Denken ermöglichen.
Aus unserer Perspektive ist diese Arbeitsweise nicht nur eine mögliche Technik oder Strategie des Theatermachens. Vielmehr erscheint darin eine Art des Miteinander-Seins, mithin eine gelebte Praxis von Gemeinschaft, die sich inhaltlich wie strukturell mit den Diskursen und Fragestellungen verbindet, die im Rahmen unserer Arbeiten verhandelt werden.

Ihre erste Arbeit war „Bilder Deiner Grossen Liebe“ nach dem Text von Wolfgang Herrn- dorf als Koproduktion mit dem Theater Neumarkt Zürich, gefördert durch den Landes- verband Freier Theater Baden-Württemberg e.V. (Premiere am 28.04.2016). Seit dem ist die Produktion erfolgreich unterwegs mit Gastspielen unter anderem am Staatstheater Hannover, der Volksbühne Berlin, dem Schauspiel Leipzig, dem Kunstfest Weimar am Nationaltheater Weimar und dem Theaterfestival in Prag. Seit 2018 wird die Produktion auch im Repertoire des Schauspielhaus Bochum gezeigt. Die Hörbuch-Version von „Bil- der Deiner Großen Liebe“ wurde 2019 als Hörbuch des Jahres der HR2-Bestenliste aus- gezeichnet.
Ihre zweite Produktion „Die Hydra“ nach Texten von Heiner Müller folgte im Herbst 2019 am Schauspielhaus Bochum. Die Produktion war 2020 ins Rahmenprogramm der Berliner Festspiele eingeladen, was auf Grund der Corona-Verordungen leider entfallen musste.

ecotopia dance productions: Biographien FARN. collective Sandra Hüller studierte Schauspiel an der Hochschule für Schauspielkunst “Ernst Busch“ in Berlin. Es folgen Engagements am Theaterhaus Jena, Theater Basel, Staatsschauspiel Hannover, dem Theater Freiburg, der Volksbühne Berlin, den Münchner Kammerspielen und an der Ruhrtriennale. Internationale Erfolge erzielte sie mit ihrer ersten Hauptrolle in Hans-Christian Schmids Film “Requiem“, für den sie 2006 mit dem Silbernen Bären, dem Deutschen und dem Bayrischen Filmpreis ausgezeichnet wurde. 2010, 2013, 2019 und 2020 wurde sie von THEATER HEUTE zur Theaterschauspielerin des Jahres gewählt. 2020 erhält sie zudem den Bundesverdienstorden für ihr soziales Engagement. In Maren Ades Film “Toni Erdmann” begeisterte Sandra Hüller sowohl Publikum als auch Kritiker und wurde für ihre Darstellung mit dem Bayerischen, Deutschen, Europäischen Filmpreis und zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen Preisen ausgezeichnet. Mit den Regisseuren Johan Simons, Barbara Frey, René Pollesch, Schorsch Kamerum, Stephan Kimmig und Tom Schneider verbindet sie eine langjährige Zusammenarbeit.


Tom Schneider ist Regisseur und Musiker. Er arbeitete bis 2000 als Musiker in verschiedenen Formationen und als Assistent für die Freie Theatergruppe "Theater Affekt" in Berlin. 2000 bis 2004 war er als Regieassistent und Schauspielmusiker am Theater Basel beschäftigt. Seit 2004 realisiert er eigene Regiearbeiten, unter anderem am Theater Basel, am Theater Heidelberg, der Musik-Akademie Basel, dem Theater Freiburg, den Münchner Kammerspielen, dem Theater Neumarkt Zürich und dem Schauspielhaus Bo- chum. Von 2005 bis 2007 unterrichtete er an der Musikakademie Basel / Schola Canto- rum Basiliensis im Rahmen des Opernstudios „Front Stage“ szenische Gestaltung und Figurendramaturgie. Von 2007 bis 2012 arbeitete er als Regisseur und Musiker in der künstlerischen Leitung von PVC (Labor für zeitgenössischen Tanz) am Theater Freiburg. 2012 gründete er in Freiburg die freie Theater/Tanz-Gruppe „off deluxe“, die mit ihrer ersten Arbeit (twilight/echo) den Stuttgarter Theaterpreis für besondere künstlerische Leistung bekam. Seit 2016 ist er künstlerischer Leiter und Geschäftsführer des FARN. collective. Er ist Bassist in der Band „A Boy Named River“ und lebt in Freiburg im Breisgau.


Michael Graessner studierte Bühnen- und Bühnenkostümbild bei Achim Freyer an der Hochschule der Künste Berlin. Seit den 90iger Jahren arbeitet er als Bühnen-und Kostümbildner für Schauspiel- und Opernproduktionen.
Oft versucht er hier zwischen den Genres Theater, Film und Performance zu vermitteln und sie miteinander verschmelzen zu lassen. Seine Arbeiten führen ihn zu Kollaborationen mit dem Goethe Institut, der Akademie Der Künste Berlin, der Architektur-Biennale-Venedig, Theaterhäusern, Schulen und vielen KünstlerInnen aus Musik, Film, Fotografie und Dichtung. Aktuell sind von ihm Arbeiten u.a. am Deutschen Theater Berlin und am Schauspielhaus Bochum zu sehen. Seit 2016 arbeitet er kontinuierlich mit der Theatergruppe FARN. collective, einem Kollektiv um Sandra Hüller und Tom Schneider.
Michael Graessner lebt zusammen mit der Autorin Lisa Danulat in Berlin und hat zwei Kinder.


Sandro Tajouri ist Schauspieler, Musiker und Komponist. Er absolvierte von 2000 bis 2004 sein Schauspielstudium an der Hochschule der Künste in Bern. Von 2004 bis 2008 war er festes Ensemblemitglied am Theater Basel und von 2009 bis 2015 am Schauspiel Hannover. Die Inszenierung „Dido & Aeneas“ von Sebastian Nübling mit ihm und Sandra Hüller in den Hauptrollen wurde 2007 zum Berliner Theatertreffen eingeladen. 2008 spielte er „Next Level Parsival“ (Regie: S.Nübling) bei der Ruhrtriennale Zeche Zollverein Essen. Die Inszenierung „Über Jungs“ (Regie: Mina Salehpour) am Grips Theater bekam 2014 den Faust-Preis. Er ist Schlagzeuger der Band „The Dead Brothers“. In der aktuellen Spielzeit ist er als Schauspieler und Musiker in den Inszenierungen „Bilder Deiner Grossen Liebe“ und „Die Hydra“ (Regie: Tom Schneider) am Theater Bochum zu sehen. Er ist Mitglied des FARN. collective.


Moritz Bossmann ist freischaffender Musiker und Komponist. Er spielt Gitarre und schreibt für seine Bands „Käptn Peng und die Tentakel von Delphi“, die Noise Rock Band „Vögel die Erde essen“ und „Puzzles“. . Ausserdem schreibt er Film- und Theatermusiken, wie z.B. für den Kinofilm „AlkiAlki“ von Axel Ranisch und Heiner Müller ́s „Der Auftrag“ in der Inszenierung von Tom Kühnel und Jürgen Kuttner am Staatsschauspiel Hannover. Mit seinen Bandkollegen betreibt er das Label Kreismusik, auf dem sämtliche Alben von ihm erscheinen. Er hat Jazzgitarre in Weimar und Istanbul studiert. Moritz Bossmann lebt als freischaffender Musiker in Berlin.


Tobias Staab, geboren 1981 in Stuttgart, arbeitet als freischaffender Dramaturg, Regisseur und Kurator für Musik und Medienkunst. Als Dramaturg arbeitete er u.a. an den Münchner Kammer- spielen, für die Ruhrtriennale und das Schauspielhaus Bochum. Außerdem kuratierte Tobias Staab weite Teile des Installations- und Musikprogramms der Ruhrtriennale zwischen 2015 und 2017. Mit dem US-Choreografen Richard Siegal gründete er 2016 die Tanzkompanie Ballet of Difference, die sich von einer international tourenden Truppe zur festen Kompanie der Stadt Köln etablierte. Als freischaffender Kurator lancierte er zudem unterschiedliche Programme und Festivals in den Bereichen Musik sowie performative und installative Künste: Mit Ritournelle etablierte er 2012 ein Festival für avancierte elektronische Pop-Musik in den Münchner Kammerspielen, das in den dar- auf folgenden Jahren auch am Schauspielhaus Bochum und im Rahmen der Ruhrtriennale stattge- funden hat. An der Schnittstelle von experimenteller elektronischer Musik, Medienkunst und Tanz verortet sich das von Tobias Staab gegründete und kuratierte Festival Noise Signal Silence, das 2017 und 2018 in München und Köln stattgefunden hat. Im Rahmen des Bauhaus-100-Festivals an der Akademie der Künste in Berlin kuratierte er 2019 unter dem Titel Hyper.Culture ein interdiszi- plinäres Programm, das ein Konzept für ein künftiges, queeres und interkulturelles Bauhaus des 21. Jahrhundert formulierte. 2019 gründete Tobias Staab das DIVE Festival für immersive Künste in Bochum, bei dem er auch weite Teile des Programms gestaltete. Seit 2018 kuratiert und leitet er das neue Medienkunstzentrum Oval Office in Bochum, in dem er international renommierte Künstler wie Matthew Barney, Tianzhuo Chen, Kurt Hentschläger, Ulf Langheinrich, Ivana Franke, Lizzy Fitch & Ryan Trecartin und Terry Riley ausstellt. 2018 schrieb und inszenierte Tobias Staab das Musiktheaterprojekt O Augenblick als Hommage an das Theater. 2020 entwickelte und insze- nierte er den Abend After Work – Ein Requiem für den arbeitenden Menschen, der das Verhältnis von Arbeit und Identität an der Schnittstelle von Tanz, Schauspiel und Bildender Kunst untersucht.

nach oben