zur Startseite

goto homepage (ecotopia dance productions: biographies KOMOCO / Sofia Nappi)

KOMOCO / SOFIA NAPPI

BIOGRAPHIES

Komoco is a young Italian dance company, initially created by the collaboration between two sisters linked by a passion for art: Sofia Nappi, choreographer and dancer, and Alice Nappi, violinist and composer. The name derives from the crasis of two terms: “Komorebi”, a Japanese term which means “the sunlight that filters through the leaves of the trees” - an image that expresses a state of mind, a fleeting sensation, like the rays of the sun filter through the leaves of the trees of a forest, like the pleasure of a dance that overwhelms and, once finished, leaves a feeling of inebriation and warmth - and "Collaboration", on which the company project is based, in fact the dancers are involved in a dialogue of co-creation and continuous research, where the different backgrounds enrich the work making it peculiar and unique.

In 2022 Komoco was established as an association based in Florence by Sofia Nappi, artistic director, with her closest dancers and collaborators: Paolo Piancastelli and Adriano Popolo Rubbio. It is precisely the meeting with the two dancers in 2020, and the beginning of the collaboration with the Sosta Palmizi Association (historic production reality linked to contemporary art dance based in Cortona directed by Raffaella Giordano and Giorgio Rossi) that give the start of the artistic/productive and educational activity of the company: the productions and workshops organized in Italy and abroad immediately received a great following and recognition. The company first short works won important international awards, soon followed by the first international co-productions. Komoco is now on tour with choreographic projects signed by Nappi (quintet IMA and PUPO, a work for 7 dancers), and continues to grow on a qualitative and structural level, performing in the most important theaters and festivals of the world contemporary dance scene.

The company's production activity, aimed at the creation and international circulation of contemporary dance shows, is also accompanied by training activity, carried out by Nappi for several years throughout the world (Italy, Holland, France, Spain, Belgium, Israel, Mexico, Serbia...) together with its dancers and closest collaborators, open to professional dancers but also to non-movers and amateurs who want to get involved and approach movement. Komoco's mission is in fact to generously share its art with a vast and heterogeneous audience to bring people closer to contemporary dance through shows, training and entertainment activities open to all. Since 2022 Komoco has also been organizing its intensive workshops in Florence (Winter Intensive and Summer Intensive) open to professional dancers.

ecotopia dance productions: biographies KOMOCO / Sofia Nappi The international choreographer and dancer from Italy trained at the Ailey School in New York and deepened her studies internationally. The close contact with the Hofesh Shechter Dance Company and her involvement with Ohad Naharin's Gaga language had a particular influence on her work.
Sofia Nappi is artistic director and co-founder of KOMOCO, supported by the contemporary dance collective Sosta Palmizi in Turin and her first muses Adriano Popolo Rubbio and Paolo Piancastelli. Already with her first pieces for KOMOCO / Sofia Nappi, she won the Introdans Partner Award 2021 at the Rotterdam International Duet Choreography Competition 2021 as well as the First Prize, the Critics' Prize and the Production Prize of the Tanja-Liedtke-Stiftung at the 35th International Competition for Choreography Hannover 2021. KOMOCO / Sofia Nappi has performed in Germany, Austria, the USA, Italy, the Netherlands, Israel, France, Albania, Spain, the Canary Islands, Mexico, Kosovo, Belgium and Hungary as well as at numerous Italian and international festivals and dance platforms, including La Biennale Di Venezia, the Albania Meeting Dance Festival, the RomaEuropa Festival, MASDANZA, the COLOURS International Dance Festival in Stuttgart and the Teatro del Canal Madrid.

What’s more, Sofia Nappi regularly collaborates as a freelance choreographer with renowned international ballet and dance companies: In December 2021, she staged her piece Holelah, originally created for La Biennale Di Venezia 2019, with the ballet company of the Nationaltheater Mannheim. 2023 saw the world premieres of Tagadà for the Staatsballett Hannover and Moving Cloud for the Scottish Dance Theater as a contribution to the bill Celtic Connections. A new creation for the Dutch company Introdans celebrated its premiere in May 2023. For 2024, the Nederlands Dans Theater has commissioned a new work from her, and she will sign for the choreography for dancers and chorus in the opera Platée for the GöteborgsOperan. With her own company KOMOCO / Sofia Nappi, she is celebrating the premiere of a new full-length creation PUPO in 2024.

At the same time, Sofia Nappi works internationally in research and professional training, e.g. at the Tisch School of the Arts at New York University, at the Micadanses Dance Research Center at Le Carreau du Temple in Paris, at the Henny Jurriëns Studio in Amsterdam, at Elephant in the Black Box and at Danza180 in Madrid, at Tanzpunkt Hannover, at the D. A.F. Dance Arts Faculty in Rome, at the Balletto di Toscana or at Opus Ballet in Florence, always in close collaboration with the dancers of her company KOMOCO / Sofia Nappi.

to the top

zur Startseite

zur Startseite (ecotopia dance productions: Biographien KOMOCO / Sofia Nappi)

KOMOCO / SOFIA NAPPI

BIOGRAPHIEN

Komoco ist eine junge italienische Tanzkompanie, die aus der Zusammenarbeit zweier Schwestern entstanden ist, die durch ihre Leidenschaft für die Kunst verbunden sind: Sofia Nappi, Choreografin und Tänzerin, und Alice Nappi, Geigerin und Komponistin. Der Name setzt sich aus zwei Begriffen zusammen: "Komorebi", ein japanischer Begriff, der "das Sonnenlicht, das durch die Blätter der Bäume dringt" bedeutet - ein Bild, das einen Gemütszustand, eine flüchtige Empfindung ausdrückt, so wie die Sonnenstrahlen durch die Blätter der Bäume eines Waldes dringen, so wie das Vergnügen eines Tanzes, das überwältigt und, und "Collaboration", auf dem das Projekt der Compagnie basiert, denn die Tänzer sind in einen Dialog der gemeinsamen Kreation und kontinuierlichen Forschung eingebunden, bei dem die unterschiedlichen Hintergründe das Werk bereichern und es einzigartig machen.

Im Jahr 2022 wurde Komoco als Verein mit Sitz in Florenz von Sofia Nappi, der künstlerischen Leiterin, und ihren engsten Tänzern und Mitarbeitern gegründet: Paolo Piancastelli und Adriano Popolo Rubbio. Das Zusammentreffen mit den beiden Tänzern im Jahr 2020 und der Beginn der Zusammenarbeit mit dem Verein Sosta Palmizi (eine historische Produktion, die mit dem zeitgenössischen Kunsttanz in Cortona verbunden ist und von Raffaella Giordano und Giorgio Rossi geleitet wird) gaben den Startschuss für die künstlerische/produktive und pädagogische Tätigkeit der Kompanie: die in Italien und im Ausland organisierten Produktionen und Workshops fanden sofort große Beachtung und Anerkennung. Die ersten Kurzfilme des Ensembles wurden mit wichtigen internationalen Preisen ausgezeichnet, bald darauf folgten die ersten internationalen Koproduktionen. Komoco ist heute mit choreografischen Projekten von Nappi auf Tournee (Quintett IMA und PUPO, ein Werk für 7 Tänzer) und wächst qualitativ und strukturell weiter, indem es in den wichtigsten Theatern und Festivals der internationalen zeitgenössischen Tanzszene auftritt.

Die Produktionstätigkeit der Kompanie, die darauf abzielt, zeitgenössische Tanzshows zu kreieren und international zu verbreiten, wird auch von Trainingsaktivitäten begleitet, die Nappi seit mehreren Jahren in der ganzen Welt (Italien, Holland, Frankreich, Spanien, Belgien, Israel, Mexiko, Serbien...) zusammen mit ihren Tänzern und engsten Mitarbeitern durchführt und die professionellen Tänzern, aber auch Nicht-Tänzern und Amateuren offenstehen, die sich engagieren und der Bewegung nähern wollen. Komoco hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, seine Kunst großzügig mit einem großen und heterogenen Publikum zu teilen, um den Menschen den zeitgenössischen Tanz durch Shows, Training und Unterhaltungsaktivitäten, die allen offen stehen, näher zu bringen. Seit 2022 organisiert Komoco auch Intensiv-Workshops in Florenz (Winter-Intensiv und Sommer-Intensiv), die für professionelle Tänzer offen sind.

ecotopia dance productions: Biographien KOMOCO / Sofia Nappi Die internationale Choreographin und Tänzerin aus Italien wurde an der Ailey School in New York ausgebildet und vertiefte ihre Studien international. Besonderen Einfluss auf ihr Schaffen hatte der enge Kontakt mit der Hofesh Shechter Dance Company und ihre Beschäftigung mit der Gaga-Sprache von Ohad Naharin.
Sofia Nappi ist künstlerische Leiterin und Mitbegründerin von KOMOCO, unterstützt von der zeitgenössischen Tanzorganisation Sosta Palmizi in Turin und ihren ersten Musen Adriano Popolo Rubbio und Paolo Piancastelli. Mit ihren ersten Stücken für KOMOCO / Sofia Nappi gewann sie auf Anhieb den Introdans Partner Award 2021 beim Rotterdam International Duet Choreography Competition 2021 sowie den Ersten Preis, den Kritikerpreis und den Produktionspreis der Tanja-Liedtke-Stiftung beim 35. Internationalen Wettbewerb für Choreographie Hannover 2021. KOMOCO / Sofia Nappi gastierte in Deutschland, Österreich, den USA, Italien, den Niederlanden, Israel, Frankreich, Albanien, Spanien, den Kanarischen Inseln, Mexiko, dem Kosovo, Belgien und Ungarn sowie bei zahlreichen italienischen und internationalen Festivals und Tanzplattformen, darunter La Biennale Di Venezia, das Albania Meeting Dance Festival, das RomaEuropa Festival, MASDANZA, das COLOURS International Dance Festival in Stuttgart und das Teatro del Canal Madrid.

Darüber hinaus kollaboriert Sofia Nappi als freie Choreographin regelmäßig mit namhaften internationalen Ballett- und Tanzkompanien: Im Dezember 2021 inszenierte sie ihr Stück Holelah, ursprünglich kreiert für La Biennale Di Venezia 2019, mit dem Ballett des Nationaltheaters Mannheim. 2023 folgten die Uraufführungen Tagadà für das Staatsballett Hannover und Moving Cloud für das Scottish Dance Theater als Beitrag für den Tanzabend Celtic Connections. Eine Neukreation für die niederländische Kompanie Introdans feierte im Mai 2023 Premiere. Für 2024 hat das Nederlands Dans Theater eine Arbeit in Auftrag gegeben und Sofia zeichnet für die Choreografie der Tänzer und des Chors in der Oper Platée für die GöteborgsOperan. Mit ihrer eigenen Company KOMOCO / Sofia Nappi feiert sie in 2024 die Premiere einer neuen abendfüllenden Kreation PUPO.

Gleichzeitig arbeitet Sofia Nappi auf internationaler Ebene in der Forschung und professionellen Ausbildung, zum Beispiel an der Tisch School of the Arts der New York University, am Micadanses Dance Research Center im Le Carreau du Temple in Paris, am Henny Jurriëns Studio in Amsterdam, bei Elephant in the Black Box und bei Danza180 in Madrid, am Tanzpunkt Hannover, an der D.A.F. Dance Arts Faculty in Rom, beim Balletto di Toscana oder beim Opus Ballet in Florenz, immer in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Tänzer*innen ihrer Kompanie KOMOCO / Sofia Nappi.

nach oben